I Don’t Believe You.

My mom is hilarious. We are complete opposites and some of the things she says and does I shake my head at with a soft laughter.  This time, she didn’t believe I have an allergy to peanuts.

I have a sensitivity to nuts, mostly peanuts. When I eat things I’m allergic to I have list of symptoms that work in the same order no matter what the allergy/sensitivity. My hands and feet feel hot, then they feel itch, then the itchiness moves up my body and my face feels hot. My nose gets itchy and if I leave it long enough my tongue feels like it is swelling.

We are sitting at a restaurant and all the dishes that was ordered had peanuts in it. She looks at me and says “I don’t think you’re allergic to peanuts. I think it’s all in your head.”

I say, “I’m allergic to peanuts.”

She says, “I want you to try a spoonful of peanuts. If you are allergic, you can try this herb (which was a slice of some kind of wood,) your dad uses it and it works for him.”

To prove her wrong, eat a spoonful of peanuts. Within 5 to 10 minutes, my feet and hands swell and they get itchy.

I tried the herb. Two in fact and it is not doing anything. My dad on the other hand, it works fine for. It gets to the point where I’m so itchy I start to have hives and my tongue feels like it’s swelling. My sister turns to me and says, “Your face looks red.” She’s a dermatology nurse at Sick Kids, I think she knows what she’s talking about.

I end up taking a Benadryl, which I carry along with an Epipen just in case. The waitress suggests sucking on a lemon which helped a little.

My mom says, “I guess you are allergic.”

 

What crazy stunts have your parents suggested you to do that you followed. Tell me below.

And yes, I shouldn’t have eaten the peanuts. We all know that now.

Leave a Reply

